Westland Recreation Centre news

Stay up to date with news and events at the Westland Recreation Centre. Make sure you also follow us on Facebook.

Page last updated: 21 February 2017

Children's Day

Children's Day is Sunday 5 March 2017. There will be free pool entry for all children accompanied by an adult at the Westland Recreation Centre from 12 noon to 3pm. The first 50 children will get a free goodie bag kindly sponsored by WestREAP.

The Regent Theatre Greymouth is also offering the following Children's Day event on Sunday 5 March: $5 entry for adults and children to the movie "Moana". Three screenings available - 9.45am, 12 noon and 2.15pm.

Closures for swimming sports events

The Westland Recreation Centre pool will be closed during the following times due to swimming sports events:

Friday 17 February - closed 9.15am - 2.30pm
Friday 24 February - closed 9.15am - 1.30pm
Monday 27 February - closed 9.15am - 12 noon
Thursday 2 March - closed 9.15am - 12 noon
Monday 6 March - closed 9.15am - 12 noon
Monday 13 March - closed 9.15am - 2pm
Wednesday 15 March - closed 9.15am - 2pm
Friday 31 March - closed 9.30am - 1pm

Ventilation update

Discussions and investigations regarding the issue with the ventilation upstairs in the fitness centre and group fitness room are still ongoing.

Fans have been installed to assist in the meantime (we first checked that installing these will not jeopardise the current systems or the warrantee in place).

Thank you for your patience and understanding regarding this matter.

WRC Management

Upcoming public holidays

Please note the following changes to opening hours for these upcoming public holidays:

  • Easter Friday, 14 April 2017 - closed
  • Saturday 15 April 2017 - normal hours apply
  • Sunday 16 April 2017 - normal hours apply
  • Easter Monday, 17 April 2017 - open 10am to 5pm
  • Anzac Day, Tuesday 25 April 2017 - open 1pm to 7pm

Our normal opening hours can be found here.

Page reviewed: 15 Dec 2015 12:07pm