News & Events

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Stay up to date with news and events at the Westland Recreation Centre. Make sure you also follow us on Facebook.

Page last updated: 8 August 2019​

Poolsafe Accredi​​​tation

Did you know both the Westland Recreation Centre and Spring Creek Pool are Poolsafe approved pools? Being an approved Poolsafe pool means customers can expect:

  • Fully qualified and well trained lifeguards
  • A high standard of water quality
  • Robust health and safety systems
  • Best practise policies and procedures

It also means both facilities need to comply with Poolsafe approved supervision rules, which are:

  • ​Children under 8 years old need to be actively supervised by a parent or caregiver who is over the age of 16 years old. Actively supervised means watched from poolside or in the water with them.
  • Children under 5 years of age need to be directly supervised (within arm’s reach) of their parent of caregiver, who is over the age of 16. Children under the age of 5 cannot be in the combined pool without their parent/ caregiver. Children under the age of 5 can be in the baby beach alone if their parent is still within arms reach of that child.

We take pride in ensuring we are providing our customers with a safe and fun environment.

Changes to availability of public lanes for lane swimming

Canoe polo will be taking place on Monday and Thursday nights from Thursday 6 June 2019, which means there will be NO public lanes from 7pm to 9pm on the following dates:

​June​Thursday 6​​​ June, Monday 10 June, Thursday 13 June, Monday 17 June, Thursday 20 June, Monday 24 June and Thursday 27 June
​July​Monday 1 July, Thursday 4 July, Monday 22 July, Thursday 25 July and Monday 29 July
​AugustThursday 1 August, Monday 5 August, Thursday 8 August, Monday 12 August, Thursday 15 August, Monday 19 August and Thursday 22 August.

​Note: There is a two week break in July for the school holidays.

We apologise for any inconvenience.

​​Exciting change to Saturday morning gym timetable

Our members have asked for Les Mills GRIT to come back and more Les Mills CxWorx to be added to our timetable.

We’ve listened to the feedback and we are now bringing you a mixture of classes on Saturday mornings at 8.45am. You’ll be working out to either GRIT, CxWorx or Pump, with other classes making an appearance at times. This will give you the ultimate Les Mills experience, being able to try multiple classes over the weeks.



 

​Hydro​​slide hours

​Please note our normal hydroslide hours are as follows:

​Monday to Friday​3.30pm to 6.30pm
Saturday​12.30pm to 4.30pm
Sunday​11am to 4.30pm
​Public holidays​12.30pm to 4.30pm​

​Class t​imetable

You can always view our latest timetable online - it details all group fitness and aquacise classes. ​

​Seniors' gym special - just $5!

Check out this special deal for our senior citizens (65 years plus). Monday to Friday between 10am and 2pm, seniors can use the gym for just $5.

Page reviewed: 08 Aug 2019 4:26pm