Mayor & Councillors

​​​​​​​​Our current elected council for the 2019-2022 term are as follows. 

​​​Tania Gibson

Her Worship the Mayor
Portfolios: Economic Development, aged care, young people ​(All aspects relating to development, development initiatives, tourism, CBD Forum, retirement housing, aged interests and promotion, young peoples interests).
Mobile: 027 296 7526

​Allan Gibson

Councillor Eastern Ward/ Deputy Mayor​
Portfolios: Three w​aters (Water, Stormwater, Sewerage).
Mobile: 027 225 4919

Murray Hay

Councillor Central Ward
Portfolios: Community Safety and Resilience (Civil Defence and Emergency Management, Sea inundation).
Mobile: 027 664 4369

Tim Mora

Councillor Central Ward
Portfolios: Climate Change (Zero Carbon, Forestry, Solid Waste).
Mobile: 027 204 8560

Patrick McBride

Councillor Central Ward
Portfolios: Community Facilities (Libraries, Cemeteries, History House).
Mobile: 027 519 6085

​​Anton Becker

Councillor Eastern Ward
Portfolios: Spatial Development, Finance and Risk (Resource Management Act, Combined District Plan, Council's District Plan, including Significant Natural Areas, Annual Plans, Long Term Plan, Funding, Rating, Insurances, Property and Land).
Mobile: 027 249 8341

Rosemary Green

Councillor Northern Ward
Portfolios: Community Health and Wellbeing promotion (Sport and Recreation, Parks and Reserves, Health).
Mobile: 027 475 4555

Peter Haddock

Councillor Southern Ward
Portfolios: Transport (Roads, footpaths and kerbing, Airport, Port and Cycle Trails).
Mobile: 0272 479 148

LEAVE OF ABSENCE – CR PETER HADDOCK (6 October 2020 - approx. ​24 November 2020)

Cr Peter Haddock will be taking a leave of absence from Council while the tenders are out for the bridge and Port contracts (funded by PGF). This is because his business may be tendering for some work and there would be a conflict of interest. Cr Murray Hay will be taking over Peter's Transport portfolio and Cr Anton Becker (deputy chair of the Tenders Subcommittee) will assume the position of Chair of the Tenders Subcommittee during this period. Cr Haddock has been temporarily removed from the Councillors distribution email group for the duration, which is expected to last approx. six weeks.


​​Rex MacDonald

Councillor Southern Ward
Portfolios: CEO and Council Employer obligations, Disabled people (Disabled interests. Strategy, CEO Wellbeing, Equal Employment adheren​ce, PCBU responsibility).
Mobile: 021 248 3357
Email:  ​​

Francois Tumahai​​

Kaiwhakahaere (iwi representative)
Portfolio: Community Identity (Maori, New Coasters, Citizenship Ceremonies).
Email:​    ​​​

Page reviewed: 06 Oct 2020 11:41am