Previous Recipients


Congratulations to Jeanette and John Oliver, Cliff Sandrey and Olga Dodd who were awarded a Civic Award in 2020. Thank you for the work you do in our community.

Jeanette and John Oliver
Services to the CCS Disability Action, Riding for the Disabled, Holy Trinity Church, Justices of the Peace Association, Girl Guides and Brownies.

Cliff SandreyServices to the Runanga Community.
Olga Dodd​Services to the Paroa and West Coast Federation of Women’s Institute, Blind & Low Vision NZ, Abbeyfield, Probus and the RSA. 


Congratulations to the following people who were awarded a 2019 Civic Award for their outstanding voluntary service to our community:

Allan Cox ​​Services to Blackball St John, Blackball and Ngahere Fire Brigades, Blackball School BOT, WC Kennel Association and Blackball Swimming Club.
Brian Heveldt​Services to Marist Rugby Football Club.
David Larkin​Services to NZ Fire Service, Coastguard NZ,Lake Brunner Yacht Club and the Moana Community.
​Ian Tennent​Services to Grey United Tennis Club and Greymouth Hockey Club.
John (Jack) Flood​Services to Friends of History House, Greymouth Grey Power, Regent Theatre Trust, Air Training Corps, Ratepayers Association and Greymouth Community. 
​Kevan and Judy Hay​Services to SPCA, Greymouth Boating Club Inc, Grey District Youth Trust and Rapahoe Domain Committee. 
Keith Barrow​Services to Greymouth Athletic Club and Greymouth Squash Club.
Waldo Shannon ( Canine)​Grey District Library, Cobden, Grey Main, Hokitika and Paroa Schools, Karoro Learning, Grey Base Hospital, Dixon House and Granger House, Kowhai Manor and Allen Bryant Rest Home, Greymouth Community Dog Walk, Two Brown Dogs and a Cat.


We like to acknowledge outstanding voluntary community service by our citizens. A big thank you and congratulations to the following recipients of the 2018 Civic Awards:

Peter HenryServices to Greymouth Municipal Band, Just Jazz, Greymouth SPCA and Greymouth Community.
Brian Blackman​Services to the band 'Not Just Jazz', Greymouth Tennis Club, St Patricks Church and Greymouth Community.
Greville Wood​Services to the Holy Trinity Church, Greymouth Rotary Club, Kowhai Project and Greymouth Community.
James ( Harry) Piner​Services to the NZ Fire Service, St Johns and the Runanga Community. 
John Thomas ( Tom) Cameron​Services to the Blaketown Rugby Club, Greymouth Fire Brigade and West Coast Rugby Union.


We like to acknowledge outstanding voluntary community service by our citizens. A big thank you and congratulations to the following recipients of the 2017 Civic Awards:

Barney Donaldson​Services to the Blackball Fire Brigade, Blackball WMC and MSA, Waro-Rakau Rugby League Club and Blackball Domain Board
Conrad Richards​Services to the Greymouth Jockey Club (55 years)
​Iain Whyte and Mary-Anne Hefford ​Services to Greenstone Park
Margaret Becker​Services to the Kaiata Community
​Tony Sullivan​Services to the Greymouth Rotary Club, Greymouth Marist Rugby Club, Catholic Parish of Greymouth and the Life Education Trust
Vinay Chandra​Services to C.A.R.E, Greymouth SPCA, Greymouth Rotary Club and the Greymouth Community


Recipients of 2017 Civic Awards presented by Mayor Tony Kokshoorn (August 2017, photo supplied by Swasti Chandra)


Thomas Daly​Fire Services - Ngahere
​Roger Devlin​Services to the Community
Alan McEnaney​50 Years Service to the Fire Brigade
Raymond "Barnie" McEnaney​50 Years Service to the Fire Brigade
Frank McGuire​50 Years Service to the Fire Brigade


Congratulations to the following recipients of Civic Awards for 2015:

Jean and Russell Adams​Multiple Sclerosis and Parkinson's West Coast
Mervyn Ashby​Greymouth Aero Club and Community Patrol
Maurice "Chips" Robinson​Greymouth Harrier Club, Rotary Club of Greymouth, Greymouth Jockey Club and West Coast Basketball Association
Ken Smythe​West Coast Lawn Bowls and Cobden Bowling Club
Judy Tutcheon​C.A.R.E. and other West Coast Health Groups
​Leonie and Barry Uddstrom​Greymouth SPCA


They were presented their awards by Mayor Tony Kokshoorn at a special luncheon on Friday 14 August 2015.


Valerie Williams​Services to the Greymouth Uniting Church and Community
​Helen Sutherland​Services to the Community


Six Civic Awards were presented in 2013. Congratulations to:

  • Rosalin Murcott
  • Moira Devlin
  • Gary Sara
  • Ron Butler
  • Anne Chapman
  • Chris Frogley

Group shot taken at the Civic Awards presentation ceremony held in Council Chambers.


Three Civic Awards were given out in 2012. Congratulations to Murray Hay, Peter McIntosh and Penny Jones.

L-R: Murray Hay, Mayor Tony Kokshoorn, Peter McIntosh & Penny Jones

Page reviewed: 10 Sep 2020 12:48pm