Water Supply Schemes

Council manages five water supply schemes in the Grey District for the sourcing, treatment and distribution of water. They are: 

  • Wider Greymouth (Greymouth, Cobden, Blaketown, Boddytown, Karoro, South Beach, Paroa)
  • Runanga/Dunollie/Rapahoe
  • Stillwater
  • Blackball
  • Taylorville/Dobson

Privately owned water tanks are used in townships without reticulated schemes.

Council provides a sustainable and quality water supply to connected communities for domestic and commercial use. We regularly monitor the quality of water and plan for the needs of the District as a whole, and individual communities within the District, including any maintenance and upgrades needed to retain service levels.  

Water supply is funded by a targeted rate charged to ratepayers able to connect to a Council scheme, which funds operation and maintenance of the water supply scheme.

Council's approach to managing water supply is detailed in the Annual Plan and Long Term Plan.  

Page reviewed: 25 Jun 2014 4:29pm