Grey District Council Further Notice of Election and Declaration of Elected Candidates

Nominations have closed for the 2022 triennial local authority elections. Listed below are details of the confirmed candidates for Grey District Council and Development West Coast.

Where elections are required, they will be conducted by postal voting using the First Past the Post (FPP) electoral system. Voting will open on Friday 16 September 2022 and will close at 12 noon on Saturday 8 October 2022.

Mayor (1 vacancy) GIBSON, Tania OSMASTON, Richard

(Money Free Party New Zealand)

Northern Ward (3 vacancies)

KENNEDY, Kate MARTINI, Eric ROGATSKI, James

Central Ward (3 vacancies)

DAVISON, Harley MCBRIDE, Patrick MORA, Timothy O'CONNOR, Jack OSMASTON, Richard

(Independent)

Southern Ward (2 vacancies)

CANNING, John MACDONALD, Rex SCOTT, Peter

Eastern Ward (2 vacancies)

AXFORD, Graeme GIBSON (PESTY), Allan MALLINSON, Robert ROBINS, Cynthia

The following nomination was also received where the number of nominations did not exceed the available vacancies.

Development West Coast – Westland District (1 vacancy)

ROONEY, Renee

As the number of nominations received did not exceed the number of vacancies, Renee ROONEY is elected unopposed.

Enrolment and Special Voting Arrangements

Grey District Council residents who are not listed on the Grey District Council final electoral roll can enrol by calling 0800 36 76 56, visiting the Electoral Commission website: www.vote.nz, by texting your name and address to 3676 to get a form sent to you or by email request to enquiries@elections.govt.nz up to 4pm on Friday 7 October 2022.

Grey District Council ratepayers who are not listed on the Grey District Council final electoral roll can obtain enrolment forms at the Grey District Council office, 105 Tainui Street, Greymouth up to 4pm on Friday 7 October 2022. Online applications for ratepayer elector registration can also be made online: www.electionz.com/ratepayer.

Special voting documents will be available between 9am and 4.30pm from Friday 16 September to Friday 7 October and between 9am and 12noon, Saturday 8 October 2022 at the Grey District Council office 105 Tainui Street, Greymouth.

If time allows, special voting documents can be posted out directly to electors. The completed voting paper, however, must be in the hands of the Electoral Officer or the Deputy Electoral Officer by noon on election day, i.e. 12 noon Saturday 8 October 2022.

Anthony Morton
Electoral Officer – Grey District Council
PO Box 3138 Christchurch 8140
greydc@electionz.com
0800 666 048